AGP Studio

the creative work of Alistair Gillies

buy safely here with PayPal

Listen while you are reading click the tracks
[might not be available on mobiles]

Jon Hayward/Alistair Gillies : O'Carolan's Concerto

Hayward & Gillies

1. Morgan Magan fiddle, saxophone, mandolin, guitar
2. Carolan's Concerto fiddle, saxophone, guitar
3. Loftus Jones fiddle, guitar
4. Planxty Hewlett fiddle, saxophone
5. Lord Inchiquin fiddle, saxophone, guitar
6. Carolan's Draught fiddle, saxophone
7. Blind Mary saxophone
8. Planxty George Brabazon fiddle,saxophone, mandolin, guitar
9. Planxty Johnston fiddle, saxophone, mandolin, guitar
10. Carolan's Jig fiddle
11. Carolan's Receipt saxophone, fiddle, mandolin, guitar
12. Fanny Poer fiddle, saxophone
13. Sheebeg Sheemore fiddle, saxophone, guitar
14. Carolan's Farewell to Music fiddle

This recording is only available from iTunes

Turloch O'Carolan was one of the last itinerant harp players of Ireland. Carolan's music [the 'O' is an honourific addition] was only written down after his death, so we don't really know how accurate this transcription was, and of special interest is his composition reflecting the Italianate music of the time - O'Carolan's Concerto.

O'Carolan's Concerto is 14 of Turloch O'Carolan's tunes arranged for fiddle, saxophone and mandolin with occasional guitar accompaniment. Jon Hayward is a respected traditional fiddler with his own solo CD and Alistair Gillies has established himself as one of the countries leading 'folk sax' players through his work with ceilidh band All Blacked Up and running workshops on 'playing wind instruments for dancing' at folk festivals. This CD will be of interest to those who wish to learn some Carolan tunes - both well known and more obscure, those who are interested in new versions of those tunes, as well as people who are generally interested in the music of Ireland.